British Antarctic Territory

by Science Maniac  |  11 years, 6 month(s) ago

0 LIKES UnLike

British Antarctic Territory

 Tags: Antarctic, British, territory



  1. Dead Soul
    The British Antarctic Territory is a sector of Antarctica claimed by the United Kingdom. It is situated in Antarctica from the South Pole to 60°S latitude between longitudes 20°W and 80°W. The Territory was formed on 3 March 1962, although the UK first claimed this portion of the Antarctic in 1908. The area now covered by the Territory includes three regions which, before 1962, were separate dependencies of the Falkland Islands: Graham Land, the South Orkney Islands, and the South Shetland Islands. The Territory overlaps with Antarctic claims by Argentina (Argentine Antarctica) and Chile (Antártica Chilena Province). The Territory is inhabited by the staff of research and support stations operated and maintained by the British Antarctic Survey and other organisations and stations of Argentina, Chile and other countries.

Science Maniac QUESTIONS

Question Stats

Latest activity: 11 years, 6 month(s) ago.
This question has been viewed 397 times and has 1 answers.

1 User is following this question

Science Maniac


Share your knowledge and help people by answering questions.